A Comparison Of Australian Awards And Chevening Scholarships

  • by


There are many scholarships available to students wanting to study abroad, but which one is right for you? In this blog post, we compare the Australian Awards and Chevening Scholarships, two of the most popular scholarships for international students. We’ll cover eligibility criteria, benefits, and selection process so that you can make an informed decision about which scholarship is right for you.

What are Australian Awards and Chevening Scholarships?

Australian Awards Scholarships are prestigious international scholarships offered by the Australian Government to developing country students to undertake full time undergraduate or postgraduate study at participating Australian institutions.

Chevening Scholarships are the UK government’s international awards programme aimed at developing global leaders. The scholarships offer a unique opportunity to study in the UK at any one of over 150 British universities.

Both programmes provide recipients with financial support, travel opportunities, and access to a wide range of networks and resources. But what are the key differences between these two scholarship programmes?

First, let’s take a look at some of the similarities between the two programmes:
– Both are prestigious scholarships that offer recipients extensive support;
– Both provide recipients with an opportunity to study in world-renowned education systems (Australia and the UK);
– Both offers access to excellent networking and professional development opportunities;
– And finally, both programmes are highly competitive – each receiving thousands of applications each year.

Now let’s take a look at some of the key differences between Australian Awards Scholarships and Chevening Scholarships:

– One key difference is that Australian Awards Scholarships are only available to citizens of eligible developing countries, whereas Chevening Scholarships are open to all nationals worldwide;
– Another key difference is that Chevening Scholarships typically cover one academic year of study, whereas Australian Awards Scholarships can cover either one or two years of study

Who is eligible for each Scholarship?

Australian Awards Scholarships are available to eligible citizens of participating countries. To be eligible, you must:
-be a citizen of a participating country and have been residing in that country for at least the past 12 months
-be aged between 18 and 35 years old
-have completed at least two years of full-time equivalent undergraduate study
-not have previously received an Australian Award Scholarship

Chevening Scholarships are available to individuals who:
-are citizens of Chevening-eligible countries, and intend to return there for work after their scholarship program
-have an undergraduate degree that will enable them to gain entry onto a postgraduate program at a UK university
-have at least two years’ work experience (this can include internships and volunteer work, but please note that candidates who are currently studying towards or who have recently completed an undergraduate or master’s degree are also eligible to apply)
-meet the Chevening English language requirement by the time they submit their application

What are the benefits of each Scholarship?

There are a number of benefits to each scholarship. The main benefit of the Australian Awards Scholarship is that it provides financial support for students undertaking full-time study at an Australian institution. The Chevening Scholarship provides financial support for students undertaking full-time study at a UK institution. Both scholarships provide airfare to and from the country of study, as well as a monthly stipend. In addition, both scholarships provide funding for course-related expenses, such as textbooks and travel costs.

How to apply for each Scholarship?

There are different scholarships for different purposes and audiences, so it is important to know how to apply for each one. For example, the Australia Awards are for students from developing countries who want to study in Australia, while the Chevening Scholarships are for students from any country who want to study in the UK.

To apply for an Australia Award, you will need to fill out an online application form and submit it by the deadline. You will also need to provide supporting documents, such as your CV, transcripts, and a personal statement.

To apply for a Chevening Scholarship, you will need to fill out an online application form and submit it by the deadline. You will also need to provide supporting documents, such as your CV, transcripts, and a personal statement. In addition, you will need to take an English language test and have an interview with a member of the scholarship panel.

A comparison of the two Scholarships

There are a number of similarities between the Australian Awards and Chevening Scholarships, including the fact that both are prestigious scholarships offered by developed countries. Both scholarships also require applicants to have an excellent academic track record and demonstrate leadership potential.

However, there are also some key differences between the two scholarships. Firstly, the Australian Awards offer more financial support to students, with a total value of up to $30,000 per year. Chevening Scholarships, on the other hand, have a maximum value of £15,000 per year.

Secondly, the Australian Awards are open to citizens of any country, whereas Chevening Scholarships are only available to citizens of Commonwealth countries.

Finally, the application process for the two scholarships differ somewhat. For the Australian Awards, students must first submit an expression of interest through an online portal. If they are successful in this initial stage, they will then be invited to submit a full application. The Chevening Scholarships application process is entirely online and consists of a number of different stages, including an initial application form and then several rounds of interviews.


Overall, both the Australian Awards and Chevening Scholarships are great options for students looking to study abroad. However, there are some key differences between the two programs that you should take into account before making your decision. The Australian Awards offer a more comprehensive package, covering tuition fees, living expenses and travel costs, while Chevening Scholarships focus primarily on academic excellence. Ultimately, it is up to you to decide which program best suits your needs and interests.

Prepare Your IELTS Test
If you’re planning to study abroad, then you’ll need to take the IELTS test to prove your English language ability. The IELTS is one of the most popular and widely-recognized English language proficiency tests in the world, and it’s a required test for many universities and colleges. If you’re looking to get the highest score possible on the IELTS, then you need to start preparing now.


Established in 2016, Focus IELTS Group (PT Air Teknologi Media) adalah perusahaan startup yang memiliki lebih dari ribuan peserta dan berhasil memberikan result IELTS dengan rata-rata 7.0

Tim Tutor

IELTS Band 7.5 + atau Master of TESOL from Monash Univ, etc


MOCK test akurat Plus Feedback Writing dan Speaking